You can change a membership during checkout to adjust when it starts, how it renews, and how the client is billed.
Depending on your permissions and the membership’s settings, you can modify details such as pricing, duration, payment frequency, and billing dates, or make limited updates like the start date, auto-renewal, and proration options.
Change a membership that allows staff override
Staff members with the Override pricing and billing at checkout permission can make advanced modifications from the store to memberships with the Allow staff members to override duration and payment frequency at checkout option enabled.
To change a membership that allows staff override:
Open the App Drawer
then select View All > Store.Search for an existing client or click Add Client to create a new one.
Under Products and Services, find the membership and click Add to Cart.
In the cart, click Modify
next to the item.
Make your desired changes:
Enter the desired Price. This will change the purchase price of the item, as well as the auto-renewal price.
Modify the Membership duration as needed to determine how long the membership is valid before auto-renewal or auto-conversion.
Modify Auto-payments every to determine how often the client will pay for the membership. This option is limited by the duration.
Set Auto-renew to ON to renew the membership each period, or OFF to stop auto-renewal.
Set Convert to [Purchase Option name] to ON to convert the membership, or OFF to stop conversion.
Select the desired Start date from the calendar.
Tip: If the start date is set to the last day of a month, future payments will always be billed on the last day of each month (Feb 28, March 21, April 30, etc.)
Set Don’t bill until this date to ON when you select a future date and the client shouldn’t be billed until that date.
Choose whether you want to prorate the payments:
Set Prorate first payment to ON to charge the client for the partial period before the full term begins.
Select the proration start date and enter the proration amount.
Set Pay for prorated period only to ON to charge only for the prorated time, not the full term.
Review the Price Summary.
Click Save.
Complete checkout as usual.
Change a membership that forbids staff override
When a staff member doesn’t have the Override pricing and billing at checkout permission or a membership has the Allow staff members to override duration and payment frequency at checkout option disabled, limited changes can be made to the membership’s start date and billing options.
To change a membership that forbids staff override:
Open the App Drawer
then select View All > Store.
Search for an existing client or click Add Client to create a new one.
Under Products and Services, find the membership and click Add to Cart.
In the cart, click Action
next to the item, then select Edit Details.
Select the desired Start date from the calendar.
Tip: If the start date is set to the last day of a month, future payments will always be billed on the last day of each month (Feb 28, March 21, April 30, etc.)
Set Don’t bill until this date to ON when you select a future date and the client shouldn’t be billed until that date.
Set Auto-renew to ON to renew the membership each period, or OFF to stop auto-renewal.
Choose whether you want to prorate the payments:
Set Prorate first payment to ON to charge the client for the partial period before the full term begins.
Select the proration start date and enter the proration amount.
Set Pay for prorated period only to ON to charge only for the prorated time, not the full term.
Complete checkout as usual.