This article outlines the rules you need to keep in mind when connecting a staff member’s Google Calendar or Outlook Calendar with WellnessLiving.
Items that won’t be synced
The following items won’t be synced between Google/Outlook and WellnessLiving:
Recurring events created in Google or Outlook Calendar.
Events created in Google or Outlook Calendar that ended prior to the sync.
Unavailable time set for a staff member in their working hours or on the schedule in WellnessLiving.
Services scheduled beyond the current sync window. For more information, see How the sync window works.
Editing and deleting synced services
The following rules apply to editing or deleting services that are synchronized:
Services from WellnessLiving can only be edited from WellnessLiving. Changes made on Google or Outlook Calendar won't apply.
If an event originating from Google or Outlook Calendar is edited, those changes will be applied on WellnessLiving and will override any changes that were made to the event on WellnessLiving.
Deleting a synced event from Google or Outlook Calendar won't remove it from WellnessLiving if changes were made there.
If a Google or Outlook Calendar event is deleted from WellnessLiving, it will be re-added if the staff member edits the event on their Calendar.
Information displayed for synced services
The following information will be displayed for synced services in Google or Outlook Calendar:
If a staff member’s Google or Outlook Calendar is in a different time zone than the WellnessLiving business location, events will be converted to the location’s time zone, and services from WellnessLiving will adjust to the staff member's calendar time zone.
When a staff member connects their Google or Outlook Calendar, only the services they are instructing will sync. They won’t see services from other staff, closed days, or working hours.
Padding time for appointments will only appear in the Staff Back Office schedule, not on the synced calendar.
If a virtual service is scheduled from the Staff Back Office, the virtual meeting link will be automatically added to the description of the synced Google or Outlook Calendar event.
How the sync window works
The following rules apply to how the sync window behaves:
When a staff member’s calendar is connected, WellnessLiving initially syncs scheduled services up to two months into the future.
The sync window automatically extends by approximately one month every 30 days. The furthest visible date depends on when the last automatic sync occurred, not the current date.
For example:
If the last sync runs on August 10, services through October 10 are synced.
On September 10, the window extends to November 10.
Changes to services within the already synced window are updated periodically.
If services appear to be missing near the end of the synced date range, this is expected and will be resolved when the next automatic sync runs.