Convert a Purchase Option

Purchase Options can be set to automatically convert into a new Purchase Option when they expire, or on a specific date. For example, you can create a three-month membership that will automatically convert to a month-to-month membership after it expires.

You can also cancel the conversion for a Purchase Option that’s set to convert after expiration.

Key tips

  • Purchase Options expire at 11:59 p.m. in your local time zone on their selected end date.
    ​

  • When a Purchase Option is set to renew or convert, make any changes at least 24 hours in advance to avoid any issues.
    ​

  • If a client is sent to collections, their Purchase Option can't be converted.

Set a Purchase Option to convert for all clients

To set a Purchase Option to convert for all clients:

  1. Open the App Drawer then click View All > Setup > Store Configuration > Purchase Options.
    ​

  2. Find and click the Purchase Option you want to set to convert.
    ​

  3. Under After Expiration, click Auto-convert.
    ​

  4. Under Convert To, select the type of Purchase Option you want the original to convert to after it expires.

    • If a membership is set to expire and convert on a date that occurs while the membership is on hold, the expiration date will be extended to the end of the hold.
      ​

    • If you edit a Purchase Option to have an expiration date in the past, it will auto-renew instead of convert.
      ​

  5. Under Conversion Type, select whether the conversion is an Upgrade, Downgrade, or of Equal Value.

  6. If you want to give clients the ability to opt out of the conversion, click Enable client control. To prevent them from opting out, click Disable client control.
    ​

  7. Click Save.

Set a Purchase Option to convert for a specific client

To set a Purchase Option to convert for a specific client:

  1. Click Search at the top of the page, search for a client, and click on their name to access their profile.
    ​

  2. In the side menu of the client’s profile, click Account > Passes & Memberships.
    ​

  3. Find the Purchase Option you want to convert.
    ​

  4. In the Action column, click Action then click Convert.
    ​

  5. On the Convert Purchase Option page, configure the Purchase Option’s conversion details
    ​

    1. Under Convert to, select the type Purchase Option you want the original to convert to after it expires.
      ​

    2. Under Conversion type, select whether the conversion is an Upgrade, Downgrade, or of Equal Value.

    3. Under Conversion Behavior, choose whether to Convert now or Convert later.

      • If you select Convert now, choose whether to charge the client for the new Purchase Option.

        • If a specific payment method was chosen for a Purchase Option, when the Purchase Option converts, it'll use that same method.
          ​

      • If you select Convert later, choose whether to Convert after expiration or to Convert in the future and charge the client, and then select a date for the conversion.

        • Clients can't book services beyond a Purchase Option's conversion date because the converted option isn't active until that date. Clients must wait for it to convert before booking.
          ​

        • If a client has already made future scheduled payments to their membership and it's converted to a new Purchase Option, their account balance will be automatically credited to reflect that payment.
          ​

        • If you select Convert in the future and charge the client and schedule the conversion date before the expiration date for the new Purchase Option, the system automatically applies a prorated credit for the unused portion of the original membership. This credit is based on the amount the client actually paid for the original membership. Any discounts that apply to the new Purchase Option are applied before the prorated credit is deducted. Discount codes used for the original purchase aren't carried over to the converted Purchase Option. The amount shown as paid by account balance reflects the correct value after any prorated credits are applied.
          ​

  6. Click Save.

    • To cancel the conversion, click Action then click Edit conversion > Cancel conversion.

Did this answer your question?